A simpler time

`castles

Ukraine isn’t considered a tourist hot spot by most holiday makers. It’s such a shame because it really does have a lot to offer. The country side is littered with stunning Byzantine and medieval castles,  Renaissance Baroque style churches and impressive fortresses and monasteries resembling castles as well as some Soviet architecture. Oh and some very special people.

My great-grandfather emigrated from Ukraine to America in 1917 and last month I was lucky enough to visit my third cousins for the second time in 15 years. In those 15 years Ukraine has now become more westernised with billboards seemingly everywhere, advertising everything from McDonald’s to car washes manned by skimpily clad girls. In the cities my relatives are very European but in the villages my gorgeous relatives still travel by horse and cart, grow all their own produce and what they don’t grow they barter for with their neighbours.

familyI’m sure its a hard life at times but staying with them was a much needed reality check of the simple life.  The produce was the freshest I’ve ever tasted and they treated me to one of their yummy lunches; roast meats, potatoes, dumplings, cabbage rolls, salads picked straight from the garden, cold meats, cheeses and freshly baked rolls. Mmmm mmm!

It had been 15 years since I last saw the Mushchenko clan. I would be happy to choose them as friends and feel very honoured to call them family. Nasdrovie!

family-portraits

About christianmushenko

Photographer who specializes in people and food. I also shoot fine art seascapes and am represented in NY by June Bateman Fine Art. Watch this space for the space between the photos the rest of the world sees.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A simpler time

  1. Well well Christian,
    What an amazing story have have blogged! And as always excellent images. It really is a simple life but I think theirs is better than ours, in a lot of ways. As for the food they eat – wow! Well done kind Sir! Fantastique! Keep it coming mate.

  2. Stephen Mushenko says:

    Hi Chris, a great blog,I’m not able to see the pictures,but look forward to when we are next together and we view them together.Your comments were also appreciated,as I feel with age and the experiences you have had over the years you,have also been maturing in outlook and appreciation of life,family and living,what ever road we find ourselves walking down.The commendable part is you are able to ,and not afraid to ,put into words what your mind and emotions present to you.So many people never develop this wonderful trait,that of sharing with the world those things that matter or make a difference in ones life,and without expression ,those feelings are lost to the world,and also to those you love,and may want to share the expanded definition of love. I praise your growth and outlook on life,you haven’t been dulled by the ,sometime negativity surrounding us in daily life, coupled with your sense of humour ( Witch you often use to paint me into a corner ) haha,you are quite a well rounded adult alpha male! By the way. Happy Birthday for August 3rd. I am very proud to be half of that equation !!!!!!! Love from Dad.

    发自我的 iPad

    在 31/07/2013,9:20 AM,Christian Mushenko’s Blog 写道:

    > >

  3. Kevin says:

    Fantastic Christian!

  4. Jo says:

    Amazing photos, story and your Dad – you’re a very blessed man Christian

  5. Nick Mushenko says:

    Chris.. You have been so lucky to have met our clan in USSR. I wish I could have made that trip,
    but my trip to AU. was like heaven for me. My trips now are to the outhouse. Ho Ho.
    I will introduce Pat to my relatives over there via the pictures. Too bad when my children played hockey there, they didn’t have the time to look them up.
    Nick

  6. Stephen Mushenko says:

    hi Chris, Well I’m slowly catching up on work and emails I couldn’t see in China, just saw your pictures from the Ukraine, VERY nice Please re-read my above email,and how I hold you in aw ,very proud of you. love DAD

    On Wed, Jul 31, 2013 at 4:34 PM, Stephen Mushenko wrote:

    > Hi Chris, a great blog,I’m not able to see the pictures,but look forward > to when we are next together and we view them together.Your comments were > also appreciated,as I feel with age and the experiences you have had over > the years you,have also been maturing in outlook and appreciation of > life,family and living,what ever road we find ourselves walking down.The > commendable part is you are able to ,and not afraid to ,put into words what > your mind and emotions present to you.So many people never develop this > wonderful trait,that of sharing with the world those things that matter or > make a difference in ones life,and without expression ,those feelings are > lost to the world,and also to those you love,and may want to share the > expanded definition of love. I praise your growth and outlook on > life,you haven’t been dulled by the ,sometime negativity surrounding us in > daily life, coupled with your sense of humour ( Witch you often use to > paint me into a corner ) haha,you are quite a well rounded adult alpha male! > By the way. Happy Birthday for August 3rd. I am very proud to be half > of that equation !!!!!!! > Love from Dad. > > ҵ iPad > > 31/07/20139:20 AMChristian Mushenko’s Blog <

Leave a Reply

