Keeping motivated is almost a job in itself, some tips from me to you.

A photography student recently asked me what photography magazines I read and what I do to keep inspired  and motivated.  I raided my studio coffee table pulled out Capture magazine, PDN ( a fantastic American magazine Photo District News),  Burn Magazine (online), and for those of us that love fine art, B&W and photograph (a US journal highlighting the photography fine art scene). Funnily enough I opened the latest issue of Capture and saw I was featured on the back page! I also love checking out the photography in some of the great food fashion and lifestyle magazines as well as work of other photographers online.

BUT really it’s my colleagues, friends and life itself that inspires me the most! The drive to say something with a photograph, to share an emotion I feel, to move someone else, all is driven by a desire inside to share with someone else. So listen to that little voice inside! (except if its saying kill someone; not that voice! Seek help for that voice! 😉  )

I regularly go to exhibitions, I keep an eye on what’s happening at the ACMP and AIPP, the ACP, and attend talks, courses, conferences and network, network, network.  I’m also very excited to say that I’ve just been accepted at the UNSW College of Fine Art (COFA) to do a Master of Art in Photomedia. That will be fun, and I’m sure will challenge me. I think I will be saying good-bye to lounging on the couch at the same time!

About christianmushenko

Photographer who specializes in people and food. I also shoot fine art seascapes and am represented in NY by June Bateman Fine Art. Watch this space for the space between the photos the rest of the world sees.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Keeping motivated is almost a job in itself, some tips from me to you.

  1. cathandtrev says:

    Great motivation tips Christian. I’ve forwarded the link to your blog to my broth-in-law who is currently studying photography. Trev

  2. Nick M. says:

    Back to school??? Bless you for the drive you have. I even have trouble looking at the Golf mag.

  3. Sounds like a wonderful challenge to do a degree in photography. Looks like we read a number of the same magazines.Sometimes that little voice gets drowned out by all the other voices and demands.

Leave a Reply

